WASC Accreditation

Al-Arqam Islamic School & College Preparatory was granted a renewal of the 6-year term of accreditation with a mid-cycle visit from Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) in 2013. Al-Arqam submitted a school self-study with the involvement of all the stakeholders. The self study involved deep understanding of the school's purpose, mission, vision, and expected school-wide student learning outcomes (ESLRS). It further inolved examination for curriculum and assemsent as related to the impact on student learning.

From the WASC website:

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a voluntary dual-purpose process that schools (1) must be worthy of the trust placed in them to provide high-quality learning opportunities and (2) clearly demonstrate continual self-improvement.

An accredited school is focused on a mission and goals for students; it is student-oriented and examines its students' performance continuously; it accepts objective evaluation from a team of outside peer professionals trained by WASC; it maintains a qualified faculty within an effectively organized school; it collaboratively assesses the quality of its educational programs on a regular basis; and it plans for the future.

Who benefits from accreditation?

Everyone. WASC accreditation is a valuable service to the public, students and educational institutions themselves.

For example:

Also helpful is the ongoing counsel provided by the accreditation commissions and the hundreds of peer experts used in the process of external evaluation.

Accreditation status also increases opportunities for public and private funding for both the institution and students and enhances the institution's credibility and reputation.

What is WASC?

The Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) is one of six regional accrediting associations in the United States. The Association provides assistance to schools located in California, Hawaii, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Fiji, and East Asia.